The Final Issue of Cotton Spice

is online HERE – In a way it makes me sad. In another way, I feel so relieved! It was hard work, mainly due to the fact that it never made a dime. I think it was a good idea and I see another quilt magazine starting up online so I like to think of myself as a pioneer 🙂 I learned so much in that 4 years – and I’ve poured everything into the new eZine…Ruby! Ya’ll know that already, and are probably sick and tired of hearing about it 🙂 But it really is an awesome publication. It has turned out to be everything (design-wise) I wanted Cotton Spice to be, but it never went that way.

Kind of weird for the publisher/editor to say that, after all, wasn’t it my fingers working in Illustrator and InDesign? Yes, it was  – but all you creative, designing types know that a project takes on it’s own personality and it’s best to just go with the flow. If you fight it, it turns out baaaad.

Now…the REALLY BIG NEWS!!!!!!!!!!! The Cotton Spice website will NOT close!!!!! Oh no… I have big plans for that site. In the next week or so, we’ll be renovating the Quilt Shop to carry downloadable patterns for many crafts – quilting, knitting, crocheting, embroidery, cross stitch…whatever we can get our hands on! The One-Stop Pattern Shop!!!!  So stay tuned and I’ll keep you posted.

Downloadable patterns are really the way to go. I find myself ONLY buying patterns that I can download. I don’t want to wait for the US Mail!!! Takes way too long. When I want to make something, I want to make it NOW!!

Talk to you soon! 🙂

6 Responses to “The Final Issue of Cotton Spice”

  1. Joanna Says:

    Karen, I had no idea you weren’t going to do the magazine anymore. I am going to miss it! It was an honor to work with you. Thank you so much for letting a couple of my little designs grace the pages of Cotton Spice. Because of you, I can now say I am a paid published designer lol!!! I look forward to seeing what you do in the future, and I will have to check ‘Ruby’ out!

  2. Barb Says:

    Karen, just remember you did not fail with Cotton Spice, a lot of people enjoyed it, but it was also a learning experience that you have gone thru, and it shows up in Ruby!

  3. Le-Teisha Says:

    I can’t wait to see what you have in store for the future. You are a remarkable woman and I’m sure whatever you decide to do with CottonSpice and Ruby will be wonderful.

  4. Julie Says:

    I am also anxioulsy looking forward to what your creative mind comes up with. I wish you the very best.

  5. Viki Meinders Says:

    Hola a todos:) No puedo entender cómo añadir su sitio en mi lector de RSS. Ayúdame, por favor,

  6. Alita Rendina Says:

    Saw your blog bookmarked on Delicious.

Leave a Reply

