Needlework

Many… MANY years ago, I did Needlework of varying kinds. Embroidery, needlepoint, cross stitch, crewel work…. I sure did enjoy doing it. I’m not sure why I stopped, but maybe quilting took over. I remember working on a needlework piece when I was just out of high school. I’m going to be 52 in October – yes, it was a long time ago 🙂

Well, I’m doing it again! You saw my biscornu, you’ve heard about the Stitchery BOM I’m doing in Ruby – well, now let’s look at some of the other things I’m doing.

practicewhite.jpg

practicewhite2.jpg

This a practice piece I’m doing. the satin stitch outline. It starts with a running stitch, then you go over that with a split stitch, and then go back over that with a loose piece of thread, and satin stitch over the entire thing. It forms a raised line, that should be smooth 🙂 That’s why it’s called ‘practice’ :))

christmasgift.jpg

This is a cross stitch piece I’m doing for a Christmas gift, so I can’t show too much of it 🙂

tiagangel.jpg

And this is the beginnings of a Christmas angel. A free pattern I downloaded HERE This is a small design, so it shouldn’t take too long, but it is very detailed, as are the majority of TIAG designs – that’s what makes them so beautiful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

