Chocolate Chip Pancakes!

I must confess I’ve never been a fan of choc chip pancakes. I’ve seen them on the menu at breakfast places, they didn’t appeal to me. Too much like eating cookies for breakfast. Well, what the heck is wrong with eating cookies for breakfast ?!?!?!?!?!

I read a post on a BB about making Choc Chip Pancakes. They used a pancake mix and then sprinkled a few chips on the pancake before flipping it. Well, to me that looks like semi-burned chips on the bottom of my pancake.

So, I made my pancake batter extra thick with just a regular pancake mix and water. Then I gave my choc chips a rough chop before adding them to the batter. This was perfect! The batter was thick, so the chips didn’t sink to the bottom. The chips were various sizes – you could get a lovely chocolatey mouthful or just a little taste! Totally yummy.

Oh… did I mention we had them for dinner? Yup, we did. And I make a lot extra, because the leftover cold pancakes are Just Like Eating Cookies for Breakfast, except they’re pancakes so it’s totally allowed! How’s that for finding a loophole in Breakfast Law?

4 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Pancakes!”

  1. Barbara Says:

    Ok Karen, you have taken the leap into ‘dessert’ pancakes, grin. Now you have to try chopping apples up in your pattern, hmmm!
    How about canned pumpkin stirred into your batter??? My favorite! Then of course if you do the apples (with a bit of brown sugar added), you have to try peaches (make your batter with a bit of real cream instead of just milk when you try the peaches). Oh yes, if you eat oatmeal, you can try the same things there, no more boring breakfasts!

  2. Barbara Says:

    I am giggling, I just read my comment, of course I didn’t mean putting the chopped apples in your PATTERN, but your batter, sigh shows where my mind is right now, grin.

  3. Carin Says:

    We make chocolate chip waffles about once a month mmmmmm!

  4. Le-Teisha Says:

    Karen I’m so impressed that you are cooking seeing that it’s not your favorite thing to do.

Leave a Reply

