If you had $1000 to give away….

who/what would you give it to and why? Let’s just say, someone gave you $1000 with the stipulation that you had to give it all away.

Some answers may be printed in June 09 Cotton Spice so, if it’s ok with you to be printed, add your name/initials and city/state/country.

You can still play if you don’t want your answer printed, just say so 🙂

Things like ?I’d give it to my husband.? don’t qualify. They have to be creative.

So, who would you give it to and why? you can name more than 1 person/place.

And here is the latest picture of my Jane Austen quilt –

newja.jpg

14 Responses to “If you had $1000 to give away….”

  1. Wendy Says:

    Normally I would most likely find a charity that helps young families that are in need or some type of children charity. Today though I would want to give it to my second daughter who is 3 provinces away, going to University who’s car (she saved all through high school for and bought herself) was totaled in a car accident that was not her fault, other driver completely at fault but car was stolen and full of drugs so that thug is in jail and the insurance is not covering. Some things in life are just so not fair, but she’s strong. I’m a single mom with 4 girls and I’ve raised them to be independent, so she’s gotten another job and she’ll get another car. I just wish I could help her more.

  2. Shelley Says:

    I would normally give it to Adsum House, which is a non-profit, community-based organization in the Halifax region, set up to provides safe shelter, housing, services and support to female youth, women and children who are homeless or at risk of becoming homeless.
    But right now I would probably donate it to a fund set up for the families affected by the fires in Spryfield, Purcells Cove and Ferguson’s Cove, Nova Scotia.

  3. Robin (rsislandcrafts) Says:

    My daughter is graduating high school in a couple weeks. I would give the $1000 to her so she could get a start at culinary school. She loves to be in the kitchen trying out new recipes.

  4. Nancy Says:

    I would stand at the end of the check outs at my local Aldi’s (it’s a discount food store that many people frequent in this area, not fancy, but good fresh food and cheap and no name brand groceries are sold). I would surprise people by paying for their groceries until the money was gone.

    We live in an area hit hard by the economy. Many of these shoppers are out of work and using food stamps or money that could be freed up for other utilities .

  5. Ruth B Says:

    I would go to a small rural town and sit on a bench watching people go by. I would watch for young moms with children who look like they are struggling financially. I would give $200 to 5 moms that are sweet with their children. The children would be well-behaved and minding their mom. These would be women that are doing their best to raise families on a modest income. It could change lives, it could give hope, it could just make someone really happy and help them to believe in the kindness of strangers.

  6. Betty Says:

    I would divide money between fire department and rescue squad.
    They do so much good for the community.

  7. Cathi Says:

    I would give it to a no-kill animal shelter. I believe those animal shelters are always in need of funds to help care for the animals and could probably stretch that $1,000 in all sorts of amazingly creative ways.

  8. Ida Lively Says:

    I’d give the money as camperships to the local Boy Scout camps, so that families in need can send their children to camp — Camp is fun and educational.

    Boy Scout camp costs slightly over $250 this year, so I could fully fund 4 youth, or partially fund more.

  9. Marlene Says:

    In Rio Bravo Mexico, a town of 150,000, there is no hospital. The poorest people there depend on the medical teams sent to the mission every week from churches all across the USA. Those teams buy, out of their own pockets, medications to give out…things like insulin, ibuprofen and tylenol, cough medicine and vitamins. Because of the swine flu scare 16 of the next 33 teams scheduled to go there have canceled. This means no medicatiobns for these people. The diabetics will be gravely ill. I would give the money to that mission so they could at least buy medications. blessings, marlene

  10. Suz K Says:

    Normally I’d give it to a charity I work with each year that helps young unwed moms from dysfunctional homes get on their feet, learn parenting skills and finish high school (some even go on to college). However, I heard a story on the news about some of the people that were affected by Katrina that are still living in FIMA trailers – many are elderly with extremely limited funds. Their time in those trailers is coming to an end and FIMA is just walking away. I’d try to get a couple of these people into decent living facilities.

  11. Susan Cook Says:

    Right now, I would give it to a friend of mine who is going through a divorce. She could use it to pay part of her COBRA bill. Her soon-to-be ex didn’t tell her he was resigning from his job back in February so 3 months later, she has to come up with enough money to pay since the day he resigned.

    If I had another $1000 to give away, I would send it to the organization that does MS research. My aunt, who is 2 years younger than I, has suffered for 15 years with MS and it is so painful to watch her struggle to do the most ordinary things.

    Sue Cook
    Pittsburgh PA USA

  12. Le-Teisha Says:

    That is coming out absolutely beautiful. With all that you do where do you find the time.

  13. Le-Teisha Says:

    Oh, forgot about the question. If I had a 1,000 dollars I would help my friend Wanda who just had a newborn baby and her husband just got laid off. The money would help them catch up on some bills.

  14. Kristi Van Os Says:

    If I had a $1000 dollars to giveaway I would buy flowers and give them away randomly to people on the street just to help brighten their day.

Leave a Reply

