Couture Sewing

A while back, before Christmas, I bought Claire Schaeffers book, Couture Sewing Techniques. I’ve read a lot of it, but oh the fun of using those techniques!!!!

I’m making a jumper – that I designed with my new pattern software 🙂 – and am sewing it completely using couture techniques. Which means… by hand. 🙂 I’m completely surprised at how fast it is going!

whole-back.jpg  back-facing.jpg  front-facing.jpg

I’m including pictures of the facings. I cut my own, didn’t really get the hang of making the shoulders the same width, but I’ll for sure remember next time.

Doing facings ‘couture’ is completely different than what they taught us in 4-H! 🙂 They also turn out wonderful and I love it. My nearest sewing friend is 3 hours away, but I was so excited by how my facings were turning out I dragged Mike in here. He tried his best to be happy for me, but didn’t really ‘get it’. “Honey, I don’t even know what a facing is!!!!” he said, apologetically. But he was happy none-the-less, mostly because I was 🙂

I’m also sewing for my American Doll… couture! These are not your childrens doll clothes!

shift.jpg

this is her shift, her undergarment for those of you not up on clothing terms of the 1800’s 🙂 Completely sewn by hand, with silk thread, all seams nicely finished. Next… a dress. For her.

This is really a lot of fun. I haven’t been able to find any other couture sewing groups though. I’m sure you’re out there. I’d love to have someone to talk couture with… anyone?

have a happy week and stay warm 🙂 karen
.

4 Responses to “Couture Sewing”

  1. Violette Says:

    I will look for the book. While I have been quilting for 25 years I have never made clothes. An article in Threads this month has inspired me to give it a try.

  2. Erin Says:

    Oh, THANK GOD i am not the only girl our age (i’m assuming mike is husband/boyfriend) sewing clothes for her American Girl Doll! I have Samantha and Felicity, and I just got finished making new pj’s for my grandma’s Molly doll. 🙂

  3. Sue Says:

    Karen,
    I was directed to your site from the Spoonflower website, by FujiMama, who had used your jewelry bag to fashion a bento bag and I just had to have the tutorial!

    I love your site so far and thought I would respond re: the couture sewing. I took couture sewing in college and I was just as excited about it back then as you are now. I don’t have a lot of time to sew, and split what time i do have between quilts, bags/craft items, wearable art and clothes. So I don’t get a lot of any one thing done.

    Hang in there and keep practicing – it is very rewarding to see how beautiful things turn out.

    Sue

  4. Angela Says:

    Karen – How neat to find you! I too bought the book about two weeks ago and am so excited to try these techniques! Totally different than putting something together with a machine! But I think the sense of accomplishment is going to be phenomenal!

Leave a Reply

