Dental Torture :(

I had a dentist appt this week, for a temporary crown. To put it lightly, I do not do well at the dentist. I spend the first few days before an appt stressing over the upcoming appt, the day of the appt trying to convince myself I’m too sick to go to the dentist, the time in the chair takes FOREVER and I’m one tense muscle until that’s over, then the next few days I’m recovering from the overly huge adrenalin from all the stress. I also have fibromyalgia (not sure I’ve ever mentioned that here before) so the whole dentist experience takes a toll on my body.

I have found a wonderful dentist here, she’s a woman. And gentle. And understands. She gave me some happy pills (valium) to take the night before and the morning of. When I arrived, she had a special comfy cushion on the chair for me, and a fuzzy, cuddly blanket. She suggested I use Mike’s iPod which really helped. As far as the dental experience goes, it has to be one of the better ones. I was in the chair almost 3 hours.

The appt was on Wed, I didn’t start feeling myself until Thursday night. That’s pretty good for me! 🙂 So, one more appt to go, to get the permanent crown and I’ll be done. I think I can get through this.

But with all that going on, I haven’t felt much like blog writing. :/

5 Responses to “Dental Torture :(”

  1. Joy Says:

    Oh you poor thing. I can certainly relate to your fears as I have a HUGE problem with the dentist myself. Good for you getting the work done!!!
    Hugs,
    Joy :o)

  2. sewtakeahike Says:

    Hi Karen,
    I’m so proud of you for doing it anyway!! I’m glad you found a dentist you are comfortable with, that does make a big difference. One of my favorite things about working in a dental office is seeing people overcome their fears and by keeping their appointments, turn the health of their mouth around. Kudos to you!
    Penny

  3. Barbara Says:

    You are not alone.

  4. Carrie P. Says:

    I am so sorry that you are having the dental problems. The dentist is no fun but at least you have a dentist that can be understanding. Hope you get to feeling better.

  5. Lori Faeber Says:

    I go through the same exact torture before I have to go to the dentist. I have panic and for days ahead of time I am shaky as to whether I can do it. I go through the feeling sick, thinking I am coming down with something and have actually cancelled more appointments than I care to remember.
    I found a super woman dentist too, but it is still a major thing for me to undergo. The stress of it leaves me feeling worn out. You are not alone. Good for you that you went and did it!!!!Whooo Hoooo!!!

Leave a Reply

