From Gudrun at Gudrun’s World

Please welcome Gudrun, from Chanhassen, Minnesota…
Wine Glass Coasters – Tutorial

 

20 This project is a very fun one to do as christmas gifts, hostess gifts or just for yourself and your next holiday party. It is a part of The Cottonspice “Last minute christmas countdown” I am a part of over at the Cotton Spice blog.

Supplies for 1 coaster

Center fabric cut into One 2-1/4″ square.

Border fabric cut into Two 2-1/4″ x 2″ rectangles and Two 2″ x 5-1/4″ rectangles.

Backing fabric cut into One 5-1/2″ square.

Binding fabric cut into a 1-1/2″ wide, 15″ long bias strip. (see directions below)

Ric Rac, cut into approximately Two 5″ long units.

1

After cutting your pieces out, layer the backing and batting together, with the wrong side of the fabric next to the batting.

4

Pick thread that matches the color of your backing and binding because you will be quilting the coasters as you go.

5

Layer the square in the middle of the batting, right sides up. Lay a 2-1/4″ x 2″ border rectangle, right sides together on the edge of the square.

6

With your walking foot on your machine (preferably), sew a 1/4″ from the edge of the fabrics, through all layers. When beginning and ending each seam, take a few stitches in the same place to secure threads.

8

Press away from the center. Repeat with another border rectangle on the other side and press.

9

Now layer a 2″ x 5-1/4″ border rectangle on the long side of the sewn unit, right sides together. Sew through all the layers along the edge as before and press away from the center. Repeat for the other side.

10

Now find a circular object (I used a mug) that is about 1″ larger on each side than the foot of your wine glass. Mark the circle with a pen or chalk as shown. Then cut it out with scissors.

11

Lay the two pieces of Ric Rac across the center of the coaster as shown and pin in place.

2

Now it is time for your bias binding. To cut the bias strips, lay your ruler on top of at least a 1/3 yard cut of fabric so that the 45 degree line on the ruler is lined up with the top of the fabric as shown. Make your first cut there.

3

Then cut a 1-1/2″ strip from that bias edge. Your bias strip needs to be at least 15″ long.

12

Press the bias edge a 1/4″ under and then Press one edge of the bias strip a 1/4″ under as shown.

13

You will be sewing the binding to the back of the coaster. Pin the folded end of the strip to the edge of the coaster, the first 2″. That is where you start sewing. Stitch the binding to the back of the coaster, about a 1/4″ from the edge, aligning the binding to the rounded edge as you go.

14

When you come to the pinned part, keep sewing until you have sewn far enough to overlap the binding at least 1″.

15

Clip the excess binding strip at an angle matching the angle of the sewn end of the strip and finish sewing all the way around.

16

Slip the unfinished end into the slit up top, press the binding and flip it around to the front.

17

Adjust the binding and pin the opening shut as shown.

18

Sew the binding down with a decorative stitch, I used a kind of a snowflake stitch, using my darling Viking.

20

Slip the foot of your wineglass between the ric rac, fill it with your favorite wine and drink up!! Now you will never loose your coaster again, this will totally take care of the sipping spillage (oops, maybe I should have made mine red!) which are two problems I tend to have all the time. If I could now design something that will tie my hand to the class because I tend to loose it all the time and end up with 3 or 4 at every party!!! Cheers….Skál….Salut….

GIVEAWAY……….What would my first tutorial need to be followed by…yes a giveaway is in order…on top of that, it´s almost my birthday. (jebbs, you guessed it, I am turning 29….again) I will be giving away a big teaser…..some fabric from my newest fabric line, Journey that won´t be in stores until next year!!!! All you have to do is leave me a comment about the first tutorial, why you really need to have some of the new fabric or even give me some names of your favorite wine. At the moment I have been really getting into Spanish wines, especially Tempranillos….mmmm. I think I just might have to pour me one right now to celebrate the first project tutorial.

20 Responses to “From Gudrun at Gudrun’s World”

  1. Carrie P. Says:

    I have visited every day and all the tutorials are so fantastic. I wish I had more hours in the day. A quilter can always use more fabric especially if it is a new line that is coming out. Can’t wait to see.I don’t drink wine but my husband loves red wine but I don’t know the names of the ones he like.

  2. Carrie P. Says:

    Here is my blog address.

  3. Mary Grace McNamara Says:

    Well if that isn’t the most clever thing I’ve seen in a long time! I missed the ric rac in the first picture, so when I saw it in the tutorial, with two pieces going across the middle, I just didn’t get it! Of course, after reading further, it makes perfect sense. Very nice pictures and what a fun little project for making some nice gifts. I’m not a wine drinker, so I can’t say anything about wines, but I can tell you why I so desperately need that new fabric of yours…there are a few quilts I really want to make in the new year and Walmart is the only source of fabric around here. Need I say more?

    Happy 29th (uh-huh!) birthday!

    MGM

    PS… I’m still looking for one more person for my Pay It Forward exchange. If anyone is interested, just click the button on my sidebar. Thanks!

  4. joyce Says:

    Excellent tutorial! And a great way to use up scraps, and save your table tops at the same time.

  5. Ruthie Says:

    What a wonderful idea. Thanks for the tutorial. I’m making some of these after guild tonight. Too bad I don’t have time to make them before. Reisling is my favorite wine and I’m not too picky about the brand.

  6. Amy Says:

    ok- at first i was not getting the whole ric rac thing, but the last photo was one of those “ahh haa” moments and I love it…too too cute!

  7. Ruth Says:

    Love the tutorial. I would love to win the giveaway because I am a fabricaholic. I do applique so am constantly looking for a bit of this and a bit of that. I also piece so I look for large pieces as well. Happy birthday!!

  8. Dawn Says:

    Excellent tutorial! Thanks for a chance to win your giveaway…
    I don’t drink wine but my favorite drink is rootbeer! Have a Happy Birthday!

  9. Sue Cahill Says:

    I love this tutorial, I have to make something to sell at our quilt guild show boutique and these coasters would be perfect! Also, of course I would love some fabric!!
    Thanks for all your great inspiration and education, keep up the good work and enjoy your birthday.

  10. Gretchen Says:

    What a clever and pretty idea! These could easily be made to match whatever theme you have for a party (birthday, pet’s birthday, all holidays, made-up holidays, etc.–can you tell I celebrate everything LOL!) I think I’m going to make a bunch of these so of course new fabric would be welcome in my stash. My current favorite wine is any organic white wine–I really like White Truck Sauvignon Blanc from California. I hope you do more tutorials in the future. Cheers!

  11. Debbie Says:

    I Love this idea and you won’t have the wine mark on the table this way. Very clever. Not a big wine drinker myself that’s my hubby and he likes a dry wine I don’t. I would be very excited to win some of your new fabric range. I haven’t had much time to sew lately and Iam having withdrawals. Work and my daughters 21st have been first priority.

  12. kerry Says:

    Your tutorial was very well done and easy to follow. Good job!
    As for fabric – well is there any quilter that doesn’t need some more fabric! I like sweet wines, don’t mind which – red or white.

  13. Judi Says:

    Wonderful tutorial. I just love the rickrack idea.

    The wine I like the best is made right here in Herman MO.

    It’s always wonderful to win fabric to use or add to your stash.

  14. Barb Johnson Says:

    I love the rick-rack! What a great idea! I first thought that it was just decorative, but the fact that it keeps the coaster on the glass is fantastic. I think I will make some of these for my daughter, who is the real wine connaisseur in the family. She took a wine-tasting course in college as an elective. Now why didn’t they have that when I went to college? LOL!

  15. Krist Van Os Says:

    I love the wine coasters the rick-rack is such a great idea. This is the perfect gift for my sister. – Thanks

  16. Lisa M Says:

    These are soooo cute. What a great idea for a Christmas present. I love them. I will be making them TODAY!!
    Thanks so much for all of your great tutorials. Thanks ~ You Rock!

  17. Tooki in New Zealand Says:

    If you keep losing your glass at parties, your next project should be making some wine-glass charms! You can see a range at http://www.winecharms.com but they are fairly easy to make yourself, especially such a crafty person as yourself!

  18. Wednesday Web - December 10, 2008 Says:

    […] From Gudrun at Gudrun’s World […]

  19. Holiday catch-up · Needlework News @ CraftGossip Says:

    […] World posted a tutorial on Cotton Spice blog for making pieced and quilted holiday wine coasters. See the tute. (6) Make reindeer pouches to deliver your gift cards in style. My Little Mochi shows us how. (7) […]

  20. Quilted Wine Glass Coasters | Quilt Therapy Says:

    […] since I saw this coaster pattern during the “Cotton Spice Last Minute Gift Countdown,” I’ve been wanting to make […]

Leave a Reply

