Life’s Little Delightful Surprises

I’ve been meaning to blog about this for a few days now, this is how behind I am. I’m telling myself today is Tuesday. Last Tuesday.

So, last Tuesday I get an email from Judy Laquidara, my internet friend for the last few years. I met her when she lived in Kentucky (i think it was Kentucky) and then she moved to Nevada, MO… about some distance from Joplin. Ok, I’m not sure how far it is, but when she goes to ‘the city’ she goes to Joplin. Back to my story, she was going to be in Joplin and did I want to have lunch? Of course I do! It meant I had to put makeup on but, oh well! We had such a good time, we started off talking and laughing just like we’d know each other forever. She was smart enough to have brought her camera and the waitress took our picture.

meandjudy.JPG

I was shocked when I opened this picture. Judy looks just as cute as a bug, just like she did in person. But I don’t feel like that’s me at all. My neck disappeared, my boobs doubled in size and my shoulders puffed up like the marshmallow man, and … well, I’ll quit. My first thought was, Oh my gosh, I’ve gained 300 lbs and didn’t know it!!!!

But I asked Mike if I really looked this and he said no. You think he’s biased? lol… Yes he’s biased, but he’s also very honest and I trust him to lovingly and kindly tell me if that’s how I really look. (you should see the part I cropped out!)

It doesn’t matter, I had lunch with a friend and a good time.

3 Responses to “Life’s Little Delightful Surprises”

  1. Mary Grace McNamara Says:

    Well, I don’t know which one in the picture is you and which one is Judy, but I do know this…It looks like you two had a wonderful time together and you are lucky to have a good friend like that.

    Thanks for sharing your lunch with us!

    MGM

  2. Judy L. Says:

    You make me laugh! Yes, it was KY and it’s about 65 miles! Karen! Your hair is in the way in the picture — it’s blocking your neck. You do too have a neck and if my boobs ever double in size, I’ll be jumping for joy so what the heck are you complaining about? 🙂

  3. Maggie Says:

    All I saw in the picture are two happy women having a good time together. Nothing else! We all have things we have a hard time with. For me, its my blog! I can’t seem to be able to make a decent post !

Leave a Reply

