2 posts in 1 day!

Oh my! Well, I said I set aside sewing time and I did. This is the result of my time…

wool-pc5.jpg

wool-pc4.jpg

I made this tiny pincushion, with a 2″ 60 degree diamond.  I glued a button on the bottom, for stability, and it works great! However I realized, that once the button was glued on, that was pretty much it as far as embellishment. Wrapping trim around it, sewing a button or yoyo in the center of the top was out of the question. But, it’s still cute and functional!

My next was this wool, utilitarian pincushion. I wanted something that would be ultra-functional. Sturdy. Still no reason why it can’t be pretty 🙂

wool-pc-1.jpg

I used a 3″ 45 degree diamond for this one. I wanted to use the different colors of wool – everything shows up on black, and for the ‘black’ threaded needles, I added the white. Nothing will get lost in this pincushion! The other thing I wanted to do – to make it pretty 🙂 – was to add the ribbon over the seam lines. Once the diamonds were sewn together into the star, I sewed the ribbon to the star, stopping of course, where the seam stopped, but I left enough ribbon to cover the bottom seam, once sewn. I found I could machine sew the ribbon on underneath, as long as I alternated the seams. On 4 of the ribbons, I added loops. Still not sure what they’re for, but I wanted them. I sewed on beads, rather than buttons at the curve, on each ribbon.

wool-pc2.jpg

You can see the bottom here, and I still plan to glue on a button for a base. The layers of wool and ribbon are pretty thick, and adding a button in the center of the top will be difficult and I’m not sure I want to mess with it. I’m pretty happy with it as is.

Got any bright ideas for the loops?

4 Responses to “2 posts in 1 day!”

  1. Carin Says:

    Very cool!

  2. polly Says:

    great job!!! It is fun to see how they change:)
    polly

  3. Carrie P. Says:

    You could come up with so many variations of your pincushion. It is amazing. The wool one is really neat.

  4. Kerri Says:

    Keep them coming, they are great.

Leave a Reply

