Project #11 – Donnely’s Shakeable Post Card

Welcome Donnelly! You can visit her blog here

 

How To Make Shakable Postcards

To make a shake post card I do the following most postcards are4″ x 6″ by 3/8″
thick, you may make them larger, just remember it will cost more at the post
office. Be sure to have your postcard hand stamped.
To make a shake post card I do the following for most postcards are 4″ x 6″ by
3/8″ thick

  • Things to have for all postcards

Non-acid glue stick: toothpick or skewers. It helps to use a vinyl sewing foot for
your sewing machine, but not necessary. Parchment paper or Teflon pressing
sheet. The usual sewing supplies, timtex or heavy interfacing, index cards,
batting, fabric, paper.

  • Things to use:

Fabric catalogs, gesso, modeling clay, beads, trinkets, clip art, buttons, charms,
fusible interfacing, photographs, just about anything that you can work with.
A fine tip is to use those copper dish scrubby you can by at the dollar store, cut
up in small bits, sprinkle on your postcard: use a heat guy or lay parchment
paper over and use your iron. You will have awesome looking metal in your
creation.

I make a see though template of vinyl with my cross lines drawn both at the 3″
line and the 2″ all the
way across. This helps you position your fabric or design also helps keep the card
somewhat true.
I always cut my timtex or heavy interfacing at 4″ x 6″
my top fabric at 5″ x 7″ this gives you room to work on it,
fold it under. If using fabric for the back, cut at least 5? x 7?.
My vinyl is also cut at 5″ x 7″
I lay my vinyl see through template with cross marks on it over my top fabric to
find my desired placement, a pen, pencil, marking pen to make a light mark at
the corners, fold the fabric to the back side to get a small crease on any side, flip
over, place timtex or whatever stabilizer you are using on it, make sure it is line
up. Spread glue on one side lightly glue down.

pic-1.jpg

I lay my vinyl see through template with cross marks on it over my top fabric to
find my desired placement, a pen, pencil, marking pen to make a light mark at
the corners, fold the fabric to the back side to get a small crease on any side, flip
over, place timtex or whatever stabilizer you are using on it, make sure it is line
up. Spread glue on one side lightly glue down.

pic-2.jpg

I work on my timtex. (Such as sewing)

pic-3.jpg

If you are going to make shakable card glue beads or jewels on the front, making
sure you is at least 1/4″ from the edge. Let dry.

pic-4.jpg

Now you are ready to start sewing it. Turn card over so the wrong side is facing
you, glue the corners first, and then glue end-to-end, side-to-side. Let dry
somewhat.
Place vinyl over the front, flip over, again glue corners firsts, glue one end, and
both sides, let dry. Before sewing you are going to add your beads,
confetti, what ever, once added, glue remaining end.
I use both index and cardstock for my backs, I also use fabric, and if using fabric
I glue it around an index card. Glue index card down, glue cardstock or fabric
down to this. Flip over make sure all fabric and vinyl is tucked in. Using a long
stitch or zigzag stitch around your card.
REMEMBER DO NOT USE TINY STITCHES!!!

pic-5.jpg

If you have any questions please feel free to email me at:
Donnely@downhummingbirdlane.com
Many thanks and enjoy!

4 Responses to “Project #11 – Donnely’s Shakeable Post Card”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Whew! That sounded complicated. I might try it sometime but I think I’ll have to have a quiet day.

  2. Kristi Says:

    How cute!

  3. E Ann H. Says:

    This would be a neat project to do with my friends. Sometimes we are overambitious – like the time we baked gingerbread for 3D lanterns – but we do have alot of fun! My friends are very adept with glues and most likely have all the items required.

    Thank you for your detailed instructions.

  4. Carolyn Howland Says:

    Donnely,
    The shaker cards look beautiful. One day I will get my courage up and actually get busy sewing. Thank you for the great instructions. Sunshine

Leave a Reply

