Quilters Helping Quilters….

With all the flooding recently in many parts of our country, you can imagine what many sewing rooms look like. Can you imagine watching your sewing room go under the flood waters? After seeing that your family and loved ones were safe, seeing all your quilting fabric, notions, books, patterns, and goodies floating about and knowing they were ruined would put a pit of despair in anyone’s tummy.

As usual, the quilters are stepping up! I learned of this from Tammy, our quilting web guru and you can read her post on it here and here is the nuts and bolts of what we’re doing –

 QUILTERS HELPING VICTIMS:  We are keeping all the flood victims in our thoughts and our good friend Jill Reicks at Pine Needles Sewing Center in Cedar Rapids Iowa has agreed to be a clearing house for donations to assist those that lost everything.  We ask you to look about your sewing space – what do you have too much of, too many of, or just things you don’t use?Consider those that lost everything and we would ask you to send anything you are willing to part with to Jill.  She and her staff will make sure that all of these items fall in the hands of those that need them most.

After this event, I looked about my sewing room and wondered what I would do if everything in it was lost.  I would hope my first thought would be that all people were safe, but I would be very sad to loose all of my goodies.  It is a good chance for us to “play it ahead? and share with those that have lost everything. If you have anything you wish to share, books, threads, needles, patterns, notions or????

Then send to:
Jill Reicks
Pine Needles Sewing Center
1000 Old Marion Rd NE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Thank you

Please, link to this post or copy/paste the information in your own blog. Spread the word! Let’s get these quilters, quilting again!

2 Responses to “Quilters Helping Quilters….”

  1. Carrie P. Says:

    What a great idea! I am going to send this info to my guild newsletter editor so that maybe some of our guild members will help out.

  2. E Ann H. Says:

    This is exactly what I need!
    Right now I’m inventorying my stash and looking at my overflowing bookcase. Instead of buying another storage unit (and wondering where to put it), I’ll pack a goody box! Or 2 or 3.

Leave a Reply

