WWKIP

Uh…. ok… I won’t make you guess what it stands for any longer than that! World Wide Knitting in Public Day! Last week was the first I’d ever heard of it. Turns out Saturday was the day! It was also the day for my Fiber Guild Meeting. We were meeting at the Powers Museum in Carthage, Mo. I think we were supposed to be doing some kind of demonstration, because the other 2 ladies that were at the meeting (a total of 3 when you count me) brought their spinning wheels. I don’t have one, but I got a great first row seat watching them spin. It was just incredible and I see myself learning this in the near or far future. I rode to Carthage with Robin, my friend who I met on the internet (ravelry.com) and it turns out we live about 3 blocks from each other! We have a wonderful time together and Saturday was no exception. After the meeting, we decided to go get something to eat and then find a shady place in the park and spend the afternoon visiting and knitting. (in public) 🙂

We took a little tour of the museum before we left and it was quite a fascinating place. There were several displays of dresses and lace. We studied those dresses and took in all the intricate details – just fabulous dresses. I wish I’d had my camera.

They had one quilt hanging up and it was beautiful. It was an appliquéd whole cloth quilt, hand quilted and gorgeous.  I couldn’t find a picture of it on the website, but this page tells a very interesting story of 2 other quilts she made.

I got quite a bit done on my Summer Sampler Scarf, and some progress made on the current PIF project I’m making. (That progress had to be ripped out the next day as I found many mistakes) 😦

Visit our Quilt Along!  And have a wonderful day 🙂

One Response to “WWKIP”

  1. Kristin Says:

    Your quilt along is so inspiring 🙂 Sounds like you had a fun time at the museum too! I love seeing work by other artists, past and present 🙂

    Also wanted to let you know that I’m having a giveaway on the blog. If you want to, stop on by and check it out. Its only going until midnight on Thursday 🙂

    Hugs!
    Kristin

Leave a Reply

