Playing with Kool-Aid

pink-lily.jpgWe went to WalMart Thursday to get groceries. Passing the aisle with the powdered drink mixes, I suddenly had the urge to dye yarn. So, I started grabbing several of each flavor. Riley said, “I didn’t know you liked Kool-Aid!” and I said, “I don’t.” Talk about puzzled looks from both Riley and Mike!! 🙂 I said, “I’m going to dye yarn with it!” Mike just laughed and I think he called me a nut, but I’m not sure. <grin>

blackcherryyarn.jpg

I wound a skein around my ironing board, the long way. This helps me to figure yardage. One entire length around the ironing board is 3 yds. So, I dyed this yarn with 4 packages of Black Cherry Kool-Aid. I love the way it turned out. It’s kind of ‘heathery’, not quite completely solid color. I love that! I’m going to use to make this hat. 

Here’s the hat I just finished –

fakeislehat.jpg

It’s called the Fake Isle Hat and the directions are here   The pattern calls for a long color strand yarn but I didn’t have any. I used double strand of KnitPicks Essential Blue Violet Multi and double strand of KnitPicks Essential Black. It’s superwash wool and feels so soft! I love the way it turned out.

Today I have to clean up my sewing room/office. You can barely walk through to the bathroom. Coming out of the bathroom, you have to turn sideways so you don’t knock over the ironing board. Yup, it’s time to clean. Magazine is done and I want to do some sewing, which would be impossible at this moment. More later! 🙂

4 Responses to “Playing with Kool-Aid”

  1. Potiron Says:

    How do you dye yarn with Kool Aid????? and how do you dye anything with Kool Aid?????

    I remember Kool aid from when I was a kid…. but I haven’ had any in a very very very long time!!!!! and here in France, I’m not about to have any for a long while!!! Hahahahahaha!!! LOL

  2. admin Says:

    Do you remember spilling red Kool-aid? how it wouldn’t come out of anything, no matter what your mom did to wash it. When my kids were in school, the school even banned red Kool-aid. Well, the same principle that is horrible on your good couch, is lovely on your yarn!!!!

    I’ve heard lots of places that you can not get Kool-Aid in Europe. Find a friend in the US and have them mail it to you. They are small and probably wouldn’t be pricey to ship.

  3. Amy Says:

    I keep seeing this…I may have to try it! My brothers gf from highschool use to dye her hair with it…she was the NUT- not you!

  4. Kat Says:

    Wow, that is a fabulous hat!!

Leave a Reply

