Giving Away More Stuff…..

Congrats Leah! I’m always amazed by how ‘non-random’ a random picking of a number is. One time I made a quilt from simple 3″ squares. I put them all in a brown paper bag and the rule was, I had to sew in the order the squares came out – no matter what! I couldn’t believe how often I picked the same fabric over and over. It was a brown paper bag, I shook it for mixing purposes often, and even closed my eyes when picking! Still… the quilt had many fabrics next to each other that were the same. I have no explanation for that… but Leah’s happy and so I’m happy! πŸ™‚ I’ll get your quilt in the mail Monday!
I’d been looking for a knitting charity to become involved in – and I found one!

Β “Macuwita sni” is a Lakota term which translates to: “I’m not cold”!

The several thousand children of the Cheyenne River Sioux in South Dakota need our hand knitted wool sweaters!!!

If you love to knit & want to open both your heart & stash to warm a child …. do join! There are no fees … no schedules …. no requirements – well, I guess wool yarn, a little time and a little mail money to send your creation to SD are the basics which you will need.

Our focus is child sized clothing – size 2 -14. WOOL is WONDERFUL – although a wool/acrylic blend is OK as long as the concentration of wool to acrylic is higher. ~ (No cottons or 100% acrylics please!)~

Please consider a larger size too. Yes – it may take a wee bit longer to knit & use a wee bit more yarn – but older children are sometimes over looked. Heck the style *is* oversized anyway!

Got extra wool?? Maybe a hat … or mittens … or sox … or vest!

This group is a work in progress … let us have fun & knit or crochet!! It would be wonderful if we heard “Macuwita sni ” yelled out, loud & clear!

I’m pretty excited about this and have already knitted 2 hats.

pinkhat.jpgΒ Β Β  swspinkhat2.jpg

So… let’s have another giveaway! πŸ™‚ I’m telling you – this is too much fun! What to give away, what to give away… let’s see….

How about a collection of quilting books? I picked out 5 books from my library, that I’m willing to part with –

  • Double Pinwheel Quilt by Eleanor Burns
  • Star Log Cabin Quilt by Eleanor Burns
  • 24 Quilted Gems by Gai Perry
  • Amish Quilts – A Rodale Quilt Book
  • Rug Hooking For The First Time by Donna Lovelady (isn’t that a pretty name?)

Leave a comment starting today until Wednesday Feb 6, 2008 and I’ll pick a winner Wednesday Night. Isn’t this fun? πŸ™‚

18 Responses to “Giving Away More Stuff…..”

  1. Mary Jo Jones Says:

    Please pick me…love your work and your blog!

    Mary Jo

  2. Shannon Says:

    I just started to try my hand at quilting, so I know I could put this books to good use!

  3. Karen Says:

    I’d love the books!

  4. Beth Says:

    If you would like to have a free sweater pattern to post along with the request for knitters, how about the free pattern at Guidepost? They have a program as well, but if they are all for charity… Here is the addy: http://www.knitforkids.org/ It is a simple pattern- just a bit T with sizes from 2 to 10 or 12 I think. Happy knitting! Beth in AZ

  5. Rachel Says:

    Oh, I want a quilting book! Pick me, pick me, PICK ME!!!!! πŸ˜‰

  6. Becky Says:

    Oh, my goodness I’d love to have this. Throw my name in there again. You are a veritable storehouse of quilty love.

  7. Janice Says:

    What a generous giveaway!!! I’d love to have all those books..

  8. Amy Hodge Says:

    I’ve just started quilting and have only one reference book on this. I would love to have more! And I wish I knew how to knit or crochet so I could get involved in that charity!

  9. Amy Says:

    oh wow! all five books to one lucky winner!
    Good luck to everyone interested…I know I am!

  10. Stephanie Says:

    The Double pinwheel in a day book sounds absolutely fantastic so I suppose the others are too, but I don’t suppose you want to mail to the UK. It’s great looking though.

  11. Karrin Says:

    Cut hats. I am interested in being in the drawing

  12. Karrin Says:

    oops, meant cute hats, I sent last message off too fast

  13. Lisa Says:

    What a great giveaway…one can never have enough quilting books. Thanks for parting with some.

  14. Katie Says:

    I’d like to enter… thank you! I’ve been wanting to do a random quilt… maybe I’ll give it a try!

  15. Jill Says:

    Putting my name in the hat! New to quilting, and loving it and the peace it provides.

  16. Winona Says:

    This sounds like a great give-away. Please enter my name in the drawing.
    Winona

  17. Shelley Says:

    I would love to win these books especially since I am an Eleanor Burns fan also.
    Shelley

  18. sally Says:

    Thanks for offering free quilting books.

Leave a Reply

