The drug commercials

pink-lily.jpgWell, first of all, I have to say the Utilikit episode was a fun one 🙂 I always learn something new from you guys, and this was interesting. We’ve been enjoying the commercials on that website, just so funny. Mike got everyone at work watching them too. If nothing else, we’ve provided some good advertising for that company!

Are you as tired of the drug commercials as I am? Some of them don’t even say what medical condition they are for, but they will make your life better! yes, it would be lovely to rid myself of post nasal drip – as long as I don’t mind the possible blindness or internal bleeding that could occur in rare cases. <rolling eyes> Last night we were watching tv and a drug commercial came on. It was a drug that I could have taken for something I have, but I’ve tried it and it didn’t work for me. When they got to the line, “…. isn’t for everyone…” I said, Yeah, it’s not for me. Then the master remote controller otherwise known as Mike, pushed buttons and the channel changed just as another drug commercial was saying, “… isn’t for everyone…” Oh my gosh! How do you escape these things? Does anyone really ask their doctor if they need this drug?

I take my share of prescription drugs and I’m thankful for them. They bring me a certain quality of life I wouldn’t have without them.

So, let’s talk about Restless Leg Syndrome. I bet you think I’m going to make fun of this. Nope… I have this. It’s miserable. It can make me cry, it’s so miserable. I’ve had this off and on since I was about 11, and for the last several years I’ve had it continually. My RLS medicine is my favorite med in the whole world. I’ve heard comedians talk about this, make fun of it, and truthfully, if I didn’t have it myself, it would be a fun thing to make jokes about it. It just sounds … ridiculous.

When Requip came out, I looked it up and it said, “for individuals suffering RLS symptoms 15 times a month”. 15 times a MONTH? How about 15 times a DAY?!?!?! And yes, this was one of the very few to non-existent times I asked my dr about a drug. It works fine for me. It’s darn expensive. But I can’t live without it. Well, I won’t actually ‘die’ but I would be miserable and you know what they say. If mama ain’t happy, nobody’s happy! 🙂

So, while prescription drugs bring us a certain quality of life, just give me the facts. Maybe they would cost less if they didn’t produce these commercials with beautiful people sailing through life now that they have the proper drug for them. For those of us who do not have insurance, the cost of prescription drugs is a big issue. Somehow, the prescription drug industry has taken over the education of patients. Isn’t that our doctors job? I know there are a lot of drugs out there and one little dr can’t possibly know about all of them, but if the drug companies would concentrate on informing the dr’s about their products, and forget the commercials, maybe the price’s could go down. It’s just a thought.

Have a Great DAY! and WEEK! 🙂

4 Responses to “The drug commercials”

  1. Eileen Says:

    I get that Restless Leg Syndrome too, but only when I’m tired. As soon as it starts happening, I just trot myself off to bed. It seems to be my body’s way of saying, “sleep, sleep, I want sleep!” I know, some people get it at night IN bed (my friend) so my case must be an oddity. But it is a horrible feeling! Yuk!

    As for drugs … the drug companies seem to rule … and are making a killing doing it! Neither my husband or I are on any prescriptions and we want to keep it that way. We are always looking out for alternative, more natural ways around ailments.

    TTFN … Cic

  2. Kathleen Says:

    I too have often wondered what some of those drugs are for. All the commercial ever says is “Ask your doctor if drug xyz id right for you!” Well geez he’s going to think I’m a total moron asking him if a drug for erectile disfunction is right for me, isn’t he? But hey doc the ad said it would improve my life! Bah!
    I had RLS when I was pregnant, it was awful! I can’t imagine dealing with it regularly! Poor you!

  3. Kim Campbell Says:

    That’s something we complain about here at my house, too. But the WORST by far are the “male enhancement” ones. Bluck.

    I have RLS too and Roobios Tea helps.

  4. Amy Says:

    That is so true. I have RLS, too …. nobody believed me that it was a condition until all the commercials came out. My Grandma had it, my Mom has it, my sister, me, and 2 of my kids. It’s miserable. However, Ibuprofen works fine for mine, so I’ve never looked in to the prescription – although I’m probably tearing my stomach up.

Leave a Reply

