The Trial Dinner

Do you practice your Christmas Dinner? Mike does. We usually have prime rib anyway, but yesterday morning we watched Bobby Flay cook an incredible dinner for Christmas with prime rib as the main course. It all looked so good, Mike just had to cook it! Here is a sneak peek at our Christmas dinner –

trial-dinner.jpg

Here the recipe for the prime rib and the Cauliflower Gratin and the Trifle

On Christmas we’ll be adding baked potato’s and a bread of some kind, and probably a green salad, but we already know how to make those. The trifle will be much prettier in a glass bowl, but we didn’t have one big enough. I’ve never been a fan of trifle, but this one is Delicious!!! And we have prime rib leftovers to make some French Dip sandwiches tonight! YUM!!!

Mike went to the grocery store yesterday morning and came home with all the fixin’s. He plays in the kitchen like I play in the sewing room. And best of all, he washes dishes as he goes, so there isn’t a huge mess to clean up afterward. Have I told you what a wonderful husband he is? 🙂 I’m telling you, that trifle is going to be a problem for me all day long!

Ok, my comments on your comments! 🙂

Vickie said the scarf was beautiful but too advanced for her. Nope it’s not!!! Here’s the pattern  it’s very easy, and fun.

Shelley asked about the fabric in the first picture, it is Moda, but it’s from the Chocolat line by 3 Sisters. It’s gorgeous, I love it!

Today, work is interfering with Etsy work, so maybe tomorrow I can get those finished and up in my shop.

Remember, comments on this post count toward the Giveaway, which will be held on Wednesday. If you don’t know about the Giveaway, scroll down a few posts and read all about it.

12 Responses to “The Trial Dinner”

  1. Amy Says:

    HA! We just had our Christmas party and I made five or so foods I had never made before…all of my guests became my testers! Worked out very very well! Although I would mind your dinner! Looks yummy!

  2. Leslie Says:

    Are you sure the scarf is easy? I’ll have to examine the pattern a little closer. It is gorgeous. Oh, the meal…..yummy!

  3. Amy Says:

    We never practice a meal but that’s an idea, since I never want to make anything I haven’t made before for an “event” in case it doesn’t come out or something. Which means I never have interesting, new things for major events! But it always seems like too much food to do a test run. Maybe one dish at a time? That trifle looks very yummy. Is that chocolate? Mmmmm…

  4. southerngirlmusings Says:

    Hubby is a definite winner and keeper. 🙂 I love trifles and yes in the pretty clear bowl they look so good they add pounds before eating.

  5. Myra Stuart Says:

    Oh that meal looks wonderful. Too bad we don’t have smellointernet!

  6. Isabel Says:

    I have done the prime rib for New Year’s the last couple of years- wonderful- will give Mike’s trifle a try

  7. Vickie Says:

    Thank you so much for the scarf pattern! I am going to give it a try after Christmas! My list is overflowing before Christmas!!!

  8. Kitty Says:

    In Mike you have a gem!

  9. Jane B Says:

    Yummy! And you are soooooooooooooo lucky to have a hubby who cooks and cleans up after himself! Mine will cook, but he makes a huge mess, and leaves it for me to clean up. Still, I can appreciate the intention. What shocks me more is that you know your Christmas menu already. I don’t even know where Christmas dinner will be?

  10. Beth Says:

    Oh, to have a husband who cooks! The cauliflower gratin sounds so good right now!

  11. Rebecca Says:

    Your Christmas dinner sounds like it will be yummy! I never would have thought to use Cauliflower that way.

    Hope you have a Merry Christmas!

  12. Lorrie Says:

    I think I’ve already commented, but wow! I was impressed by someone who practices Christmas dinner ahead of time. It all looks wonderful – and you’re right, the trifle is VERY tempting.

Leave a Reply

