Big Mail Day Yesterday

Doncha just love it when the mailman brings all kinds of packages in the mail, and they are all for YOU!? 🙂 I do, and yesterday was such a day.

First, Fed Ex came by and left a package with this booklet inside it on the porch-

afghan.jpg

This will be my next big project and I’m a little intimidated by it. I looked through the directions and it’s not for the faint of heart. There are knit alongs for this afghan, which I may have to join just to figure out the directions. I’ve already got some of the yarn purchased as you can see. You also get a peek at my ironing board cover which needs to be changed! 🙂

The best part about this package? I didn’t have to pay for it. I swapped some yarn for it. Perfect!

Next,  a lady on one of my Ravelry groups offered up some 30’s fabric – whoever PM’d her first, she’d send it to. Well, I was 2nd! As an alternative she said she had ‘a few’ blocks laying around made from 30’s fabric and would I like those? I’m strangely attracted to these prints after years of not caring for them. Anyway, imagine my surprise when 2 very large envelopes were on the porch!!! (I’ve had to put a small table under my mailbox on the porch cause we do get a lot of mail and packages)

thirties1.jpg

and

thirties2.jpg

That’s what she calls ‘a few’ blocks lying around? Wow! A crib size quilt top, a partially finished Delectable Mountains top with blocks to finish it, 4 large (16″? 18″?) Dresden Plate blocks, embroidered tulip blocks, 9 patch blocks, many stacks of rectangles both large and small, pieces of blocks ready to sew together… my goodness! She didn’t want anything for the ‘few’ blocks, but I’ll be sending her a little something 🙂

And finally, this –

swapgoodies1.jpg

I’m in a Winter Wonderland Swap on KnittingHelp.com and this is what my Santa sent me! Isn’t that yarn gorgeous? Reminds me of peacocks! I had put in my questionnaire that I was learning to knit lace, so she sent me this wonderful pattern for several lace scarves and that gorgeous yarn.

It was like Christmas around here yesterday, and I’m still oohing and ahing and petting fabric and yarn! 🙂

The HoHoHo quilt is nearly done, just putting on the edges – pretty different edge treatment for a quilt. I think you’ll like it! Tomorrow the weather is supposed to change into actual winter weather, so I’m trying to get it finished today so I can photograph it today, before it starts storming.

Have a great day! 🙂

4 Responses to “Big Mail Day Yesterday”

  1. Amy Says:

    Lucky you! Looks like you will have pleanty to keep you busy for a long time. Enjoy all of your goodies!

  2. Lisa Says:

    Now that’s what I call a great mail day! I love the ‘few’ blocks of fabric! Have a great Thanksgiving today.

  3. Alison Says:

    Your table looked very lovely. I admire you for taking on such a bit knitting project, especially an aran one! Aran makes me nervous : ) I also love all your reproduction prints. I have never made anything from them but will one day as they are growing on me more and more. I’m visiting your site for the first time!

  4. Karen Gass Says:

    Hi Alison, aran used to make me nervous too. That’s why I thought this project would be just the thing. Little bits of aran in 12″ blocks. I don’t feel bad frogging something like a small block, like I would a sweater!

    Welcome to Cotton Spice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

