Thoughts inspired by a friend

I recently read this The Good, The Bad and The Ugly  on my friend Judy’s blog. Her reflections on the events that have taken place at Virginia Tech this week. As horrible as it all was, there is always good to come out of everything. Maybe not for the students just yet, but for Judy it did. This is no way belittles the tragedy in Virginia. Exactly the opposite. We can choose to rail against the system for failing or lead a protest. We can also choose to recognize the blessings in our own lives. We can choose to develop a grateful and thankful spirit rather than an angry one. Our hearts go out to everyone affected in Virginia and we pray for them. As a parent, there are things you just cannot imagine. So, for the parents whose children went through that experience – I’m so sorry. I’d give you hugs, I’d bring over dinner, I’d do your errands while you grieve. Any one of the people I know would do the same. If it were in our power to comfort you we would. If we had the ability to bless your heart in any way, we would. As it stands, we can pray and whether we realize it or not, prayer is the biggest and the best thing we can do for you.

So, I choose to count my blessings, to start learning to take nothing for granted. To realize that the things I have are gifts from God, nothing is here because ‘i work hard and deserve it’. I choose to make Him the Lord of my life and to accept what comes my way as His will. Knowing that He loves me beyond comprehension and lets nothing come to me for the purpose of harm or revenge or ill will.

God’s Blessings in my life –

My children – I love them all. They are bright and intelligent, responsible adults with families. They love the Lord, and have given me incredible grandsons. Being a Grandma is something you can’t understand until you reach that place. It’s a love unlike the one you have for your children, which you thought was the most love you could have for anyone. I gave birth to 3 children and when I married I gained 4 more. All with their own talents, families and treasures to share. (except for Riley, who is 11 and I now have the privilege to homeschool her and let the Lord help me to teach her how to grow up into a Godly woman)

My husband – I never knew what marriage was like until we got married. Mike shows me a picture of unconditional love, not just for me, but for my children too. It’s amazing to me, but he considers my children to be his children and loves them like his own. I hope I do as well for his children. He treasures me and takes care of me. He never gets annoyed with me, or angry with me. He just loves me. He never considers whats ‘fair’ or ‘unfair’. He is a true picture of 1 Corinthians 13. God truly blessed me beyond measure in him.

My home – I love to create a home for my family. I would spend my days sewing, gardening, reading, decorating, cooking, planning treats for everyone. I like to have dinner ready when Mike gets home. I like to make his favorite dinners. I have a big old house – yes old! – but I get to paint, decorate, do whatever I want to make it a home, to make it more comfortable for us.

My work – I get to work at home. I love to spend my days at home.  This is my world. I have my office and sewing room here. From this room I have written a book, published patterns, done quilts for customers and now publish a magazine. If I could pick my dream job from the biggest list in the world – this would be it. I love to work on the computer drawing diagrams and laying out the magazine. I love to sew and work with my fabrics and goodies.

My health – I know I have health problems, but I’m still kickin’. Well, maybe not actually kickin’…! 🙂 But I’m functioning, I have mobility, I have my mind (most days) and the ability to do most of the things I want to do. I know my own health difficulties are small compared to others, compared to what could be. I choose to be thankful for what I have, rather than what I don’t have.

I’m so very thankful and happy that Shannon and Jack are living with us. It’s lovely to have Jack here, to be able to watch him learn and see him do new things. That’s a true privilege. I love working with Shannon in my office. So much more fun than working on the internet across country! She’s also my own personal wardrobe consultant. 🙂

God has been good to me, and I hope I bring Him joy. Even while counting my own blessings, my heart hurts for the families who’ve gone through this week in Virginia. We’ll keep praying for you, and we send many hugs.

karen

Leave a Reply

