The Housewifes Duties

I have always had a fascination with the duties of the housewife, homemaker, home keeper, whatever you want to call that person who takes care of the house. Maids and house servants are a different category, but their duties fascinate me as well.

When I was a girl, I wanted nothing more than to marry and have children. I wanted to have dinner on the table when hubby came home, I wanted to iron shirts (ok I still do that), sew and bake, garden and take care of my family. I didn’t have any great career aspirations. I’m still not quite sure how I ended up as a magazine editor! Evidently, this is what God has for me.

Anyway, reading this book about how things were done so many years ago captivates me, and makes me thankful again for modern convenience’s! Here’s another excerpt, still in the Laundry chapter –

74. Soaking.—It is advisable to soak white clothes for a few hours (some prefer over night), for soaking loosens the dirt, makes less rubbing necessary, and therefore saves both time and wear. A very simple way to soak white clothes is to cover them with warm water early in the morning. Then, when one is ready to go on with the washing, more hot water may be added to that already used and the clothes may be washed easily.

If clothes are to be soaked over night, use cold water rather than warm, because warm water expands the fibers of the fabric, brings the dirt to the surface, and then, during the night, cools and closes the fibers so that by morning the dirt is held very tightly in the fabric and is difficult to loosen again. (I have to say, I do appreciate knowing the reason for a rule!)

When clothes are soaked over night, soap the very soiled parts as they are put into the tub. Some persons roll the soaped articles, this plan being very satisfactory although it takes more time.

If you have only hard water to use, treat it by one of the methods suggested in Arts. 66, 67, and 68 before you attempt to soak clothes in it. Otherwise, a scum will form and settle on the clothes. Soap, of course, helps to prevent the forming of the scum.”

I have to add at this point, that I also love Spray and Wash!

Karen

Leave a Reply

