St. Louis kicked butt last night…

Something not mentioned before on this blog – I am a huge St. Louis Cardinals fan! I’m a baby fan, only a year and a half old, but I’m learning!

In all my life, I’ve never had a ‘team’. Never really lived anywhere baseball was huge, or any sport for that matter. Well, lived a little while in Washington state, but never got into baseball for various reasons.

I can tell you that I don’t have a graceful, coordinated, sports-minded bone in my body. I trip over lint on the carpet. I run into walls regularly. If something is hurtling towards me at 90 mph, I close my eyes, cover my head with my arms and fall on the ground waiting for it to pass. Not one single place in my brain says, “Oh if only I had a bat!”.

But I have found, since getting married in February 2005 to a HUGE Cardinal fan, (I mean he’s a huge FAN, not a HUGE fan) that I LOVE baseball. I LOVE having a TEAM! I have a Cardinal baseball cap, but it doesn’t look good with my hair so I don’t wear it. I need to get a Cardinal T-shirt.

When I was in Alaska, I told my son I was a baseball fan now, and he just laughed. A lot.

I don’t like football or basketball cause they’re just too fast. I can’t keep up with what’s going on. By the time I figure out what happened, they’re on to another play. Baseball is just my speed. And I like the team! I watch baseball even when Mike isn’t home. I turned off FRIENDS to watch baseball. Yup… I’m hardcore.

Mike is a great mentor. He lets me talk during the game. He answers all my questions. He lets me make fun of players when they deserve it – Cardinal or otherwise. He’s taught me about baseball. The main thing he’s taught me is that it’s fun. Last year we went to 2 games and had the best time. This year, with the new stadium being built, it was near to impossible to get tickets so we’ll wait for next year.

Sometimes I can’t stay up to watch the entire game. I keep falling asleep. No offense Cardinals. But I generally wake up for the bottom of the 9th, and then go back to sleep.

🙂 Karen

p.s. They won 14-4

5 Responses to “St. Louis kicked butt last night…”

  1. April Says:

    Karen, I also am an avid baseball fan, and have been since I was about 8. I’ve followed my Detroit Tigers that whole time (yes, I’m an American League girl LOL! My other team is the Boston Red Sox.) I also love the slower pace, on TV or in person. I’m one of those geeks that keeps score on that little sheet at the games. Keeps my mind off the hot dogs. And I love to cross stitch, or now, handpiece, during games.

    I could say I love it even more than ice hockey, but it’s a close contest. 😉 I’m an hour from Canada, and with a team like the Red Wings (win or lose, never boring), it was inevitable.

    I don’t mind basketball except for the obnoxious (if not actually criminal) personalities at the professional level. I find the game itself interesting.

    Football is lost on me. The hurry-up-and-wait pace just bugs the heck out of me. I don’t care much for the showboating in the end zone either. 😉

    Ah, blessed World Series.. be good to us and our favorite teams, please!

  2. Karen Says:

    Whoa, I loved your entry about baseball. I am a newbie fan as well, havent even really picked my favorite MLB team cause I am so busy following our local minor league team, the Durham Bulls, our local college team, UNC, that went to the college world series and my son’s teams. Its just too much fun. If you want to really experience some baseball, go to Spring Training.
    I am also a quilt designer and my name is Karen. Someday we must meet, either at Quilt Market or a baseball game! Go Cardinals…

  3. April Says:

    Hi Karen! Congrats on the Cards winning their division! The Tigers came so close (the divison was theirs until this past weekend.) Now they’re a wild card, and on their way to the face the Yankees. 😦

  4. karen Says:

    Oh Yeah!!! We’re excited!!! We have tickets for the game on Sunday…! Can’t wait! 🙂

  5. Buy soma watson brand online 150 tablets. Says:

    Buy soma online….

    Soma online sales. Soma online….

Leave a Reply

