Knitting Saturday

Besides quilting and writing, I love to knit. A few years ago, I went on a yarn buying spree and have stored it ever since. I knit a few scarves, and some mittens for my grandsons that I never sent them.

So, last week I decided it was time to start using that yarn. I’ve also been collecting knitting books. I look at the pictures and then put them in my bookshelf. One book is called “The Knitters Handy Book of Sweater Patterns” by Ann Budd. I have to say it’s the coolest book!

It has all the basic designs and then gives you directions based on your measurements, how you want it to fit, and the gauge. Basically you can use any yarn you want, any size needles you want to make any sweater you want!!!! All you have to do is determine your gauge and go from there. It tells you how many yards of yarn you’ll need to complete your project. How easy is that?

I decided to start easy and make a drop shouldered long sleeve sweater, V-neck with some light blue 100% cotton yarn from my stash. It’s completely simple, stockinette stitch…no thinking involved! I’ve made sweaters with more complex stitch patterns before and I enjoy that, but for this one… I wanted something I could knit while watching the game. I can’t count stitches and outs at the same time.

Today is one of those days I can’t seem to focus on any one thing. So, I’m taking the day off and knitting. I watched Must Love Dogs, which is a completely wonderful movie. I might watch Phantom of the Opera again, I love that movie!

Back to Knitting Saturday!

Karen

Leave a Reply

